“Don’t be afraid to expand yourself, to step out of your comfort zone. That’s where the joy and the adventure lie.” ~ Herbie Hancock.


I have always been afraid of stepping out my comfort zone….but I have always braved it. Every single time it has paid off in a big way. That’s how I got my job. It’s how I managed to find finance to finish my bachelor’s degree. It’s how I bought my car. It’s only in one sphere of my life that I have always been a chicken…..dating.

I’m that girl who has ridiculously long relationships before eventually throwing in the towel. Allow me to illustrate. I have had a total of 3 boyfriends to date. Those relationships lasted 4 years, 3 years and 3 years in that order. I have never been on a blind date, never randomly dated, never had a one night stand and never cheated. The only thing I am truly guilty of is flirting. I’m a serial flirt.

Now that I find myself single right in the middle of a quarter-life crisis, a couple of weeks before my birthday and in the year I just happened to declare the year of experiments….I would say the universe has spoken.

My friends have agreed to set me up on a series of blind dates. The thought makes me extremely nervous but I am rather excited at the same time. My sister is first in line and she sent pictures of the guy last night. He looks handsome and extremely tall. He is either Indian or coloured. I can’t be sure from the picture. I see my sister took me very seriously when I said I am an equal opportunity dater.

I’m extremely nervous. I don’t even remember the unspoken rules of a first date. Have I mentioned that I have only ever dated my friends. I have never had to suffer through the getting-to-know-you phase. A stranger is a whole new ball game for me. I’m suddenly thinking about dropping all those pesky bad habits I haven’t bothered with before. Maybe getting a manicure. Maybe new underwear. A tube of lipstick maybe.

Maybe a little landscaping of the garden wouldn’t hurt either…. ai yai yai!
