I am a marvelous housekeeper. Every time I leave a man I keep his house ~ Zsa Zsa Gabor

Sari Gabor, was born on the 6th of February 1917 in Hungary. Unbeknownst to her parents, they had created a protege whose  name would still be known and recognised a century later as Zsa Zsa Gabor. She was a striking beauty and she was crowned Miss Hungary at the age of 19. In addition to her beauty she is known for her witty statements, calling everyone darling and for her nine marriages.


Her first marriage was to a 35 year old Turk at just 15 years of age. She later became a television and movie star but the public was always far more interested in her dramatic personal life.


As a result of her many marriages and her successful career, she was fabulously wealthy.


While I can’t say I admire her or even like her, I find her very fascinating and I love reading the witty things she has said over the years. 


Here are some of my favorite quotes from this legend:

“Getting divorced just because you don’t love a man is almost as silly as getting married just because you do.”


“I never hated a man enough to give him his diamonds back.”


“Personally, I know nothing about sex, because I have always been married.”

“I want a man who’s kind and understanding. Is that too much to ask of a millionaire?”
“How many husbands have I had? You mean apart from my own?”

“I call everyone ‘Darling’ because I can’t remember their names.”

“Husbands are like fires – they go out when unattended.”
