The hair is the richest ornament of women.  ~Martin Luther

 
Lately, I have been suffering from a lack of inspiration to do most of what I need to do: study, work, cook, my wardrobe, my hair……etc. I have decided to get out there and look  for inspiration. I know that it won’t come to me while I sit behind my desk and vegetate and that as long as I’m uninspired I will be unproductive in general and we, most definitely, cant have that.
 I just like to shake things up, and your hair is one way to do it. ~ Katherine Heigl

 
I have been particularly bored with my hair and the result has been the fact that I have given shaving my head some serious thought. The only hesitation I have had stems from the fact that I know very short hair doesnt look good on me. I have heard countless times that a woman’s hair makes a lasting impression. Whether this is true or not, I find that when my hair looks good and I know it, I have an extra spring in my step even when I dress down. So what better place to start than from the top…..with a new hairstyle.
“Women…. Who made ’em?  God must have been a… genius.  Their hair.  They say that the   hair is everything, you know?  Have you ever buried your nose in a mountain of curls, and just wanted to go to sleep forever?”  ~Bo Goldman, “The Start of an Education,” made popular by the movie Scent of a Woman
     
While blog trawling I found Shani Davis’ blog and I finally hit paydirt. I came across a hairstyle or two that truly inspired me. Simple elegant and beautiful. I can see myself wearing my hair like this anywhere and everywhere. While my office is conservative, everyone knows and accepts that I have a little more chutzpah style-wise than most other employees. This is mostly because I’m the youngest employee. This hairstyle is just so me. Coincidentally, I started doing the little side braid last week but I didn’t really know where I was going with the idea so I gave it up. Now I see where I could go with it and I already have ideas to change it up as I go along.
I love the hairstyle below for its elegance. It look so effortless and chic. I imagine I can wear it to work (provided my outfit is muted) or to a cocktail party or to after-work drinks with a friend. I don’t know how easy it actually is to recreate this look but I will most certainly be trying this as well.
I’m so excited about doing my hair that I simply must do it tonight…..I just love feeling inspired.
