“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” Yves Saint Laurent

“No culture can live, if it attempts to be exclusive.” ~ Mahatma Gandhi

My love of all things stylish and fashionable is no secret. My latest obsession is Ankara fabric. My country doesn’t have an official traditonal dress. As such, traditional African attire has bever been high on my list of priorities.  Lately, probably due to exposure to other cultures, I have developed a new appreciation for this colourful African fabric and the garments made from it.

“Culture is a widening of the mind and of the spirit” ~Jawaharlal Nehru 

It seems fashion icons like Beyonce have also developed a taste for African print. I have serious reservations about the colour combinations in Beyonce’s oufit….Ok, I’m lying. I think the colours look awful together.

You can opt for simple….

Traditional…

Couture….

or just sexy…..

Ankara dresses are usually made to order so you can go wild design-wise. Its simply a matter of finding the fabric and design that works best for you.  I think I will go ahead and indulge a little.

“As the soil, however rich it may be, cannot be productive without cultivation, so the mind without culture can never produce good fruit.” ~ Seneca

My life is richer for the encounters I have had and continue to have with people and friends from different cultures. The languages fascinate me. The food is so different though sometimes I can not actually brave tasting it. The Ghana Festival I recently went to is a case in point. The food was so exotic looking that I hesitated. I had a mouthful or two here and there but I feared my friend’s fiance’s prophecy that she and I would spend the next day in the loo would come true so I trod with caution :-).

With every culture, the clothes are beautiful and different. The traditions, the ceremonies, the relationships, the interactions…..worth every second. I’m also in the process of trying to get a saree….. but that’s a story for another day.

