“Your hair is whatever you want it to be. Think it’s sexy, sassy, or elegant? It will be. Think it’s ugly? It will oblige.” ~ Knotty and Nice

After keeping natural hair for 22 of my twenty something years on this earth no one is more surprised than I am that I am considering transitioning to natural hair. It’s not because I have had some new African reawakening. I am an African everyday whether my hair is straight or curly but I’m bored out of my mind. I have had very long hair, I have chopped it, coloured it mahogany, grown it, coloured it black, chopped again and gone back to mahogany all in the past couple of years. My hair seems none the worse for wear though I do feel mildly guilty for the punishment I have inflicted on it.

“Hair brings one’s self-image into focus; it is vanity’s proving ground.  Hair is terribly personal, a tangle of mysterious prejudices.”  ~Shana Alexander

“Tucker strokes my hair. There’s something so tender about the gesture. It might as well have been him whispering I love you.” ~ Cynthia Hand, Hallowed  (This quote is not strictly relevant but I think the same when a person touches my hair. Its an intimate gesture and its one of my favourite things so I included it.)

Back to the subject at hand….

I woke up with the crazy notion that I want an Afro and I want to colour it mahogany. Currently I’m sporting a short cut and I’m debating how exactly to achieve a mahogany Afro. I am not keen on a big chop so my only option will be to transition and then gleefully colour away. My only hesitation stems from the fact that from 22 years of experience I already know that Afro hair is a lot of work. This was despite the fact that my hair has always been relatively soft. Most people refused to believe my hair wasn’t textured (or is the word texturised) in one way or the other and yet despite that, it was still a whole lot of work. I have a hectic work, study and sport schedule…. do I really have time for an Afro? Maybe I won’t be so bored. Maybe I will hate it. Maybe I will love it. But most definitely, nothing ventured, nothing gained. I will consider it a little more and see.

“She was the most beautiful creature on Earth – her hair said so in that language only hair can speak.” ~ Gabriel Bá, Daytripper

When it comes to natural hair my  crush  inspiration at the moment is Sabina Karlsson, a Swedish/African model… Here are a few pictures of her hair. Please note that that is her natural hair colour.

