The Soumaya Museum – Mexico

Art enables us to find ourselves and lose ourselves at the same time ~ Thomas Merton

I love Art. Sculptures, paintings….you name it. I came across pictures of art pieces from the collections held by the Soumaya Museum in Mexico that made my heart skip a beat.

“The Museo Soumaya is a private museum in Mexico City with free admission. It is owned by the Carlos Slim Foundation and contains the extensive art, religious relics, historical documents, and coin collection of Carlos Slim and his late wife Soumaya, after whom the museum was named.” – wikipedia

The Museum (pictured above) has been the subject of some criticism. Many think its over the top, maybe even vulgar. Some seem to think its just a rich man’s toy. I think its beautiful and if I had an opportunity to visit it, I would grab on to that opportunity with both hands. My personal opinion is criticism is usually a sign that you have done something right. The pictures of the sculptures always take my breath away.

I will let the art do the talking:

The aim of every artist is to arrest motion, which is life, by artificial means and hold it fixed so that a hundred years later, when a stranger looks at it, it moves again since it is life. ~ William Faulkner

I cant get enough of this cherub. The veil detail blows my mind. Every time I look at it I try to imagine the artist working away; the delicate movement that created this masterpiece. I try to imagine the hands that arrested this image and held it fixed for eternity that I may look upon it and be moved. It can only be pure genius.

Breathtakingly Beautiful.

