When preparing to travel, lay out all your clothes and all your money. Then take half the clothes and twice the money“.

Frank Herbert says “without new experiences, something inside of us sleeps. The sleeper must awaken.” It’s been 3 years since I took a holiday! sinful, I know. Im sure the “something” inside me is in a coma by now. Too much has been going on for me to even begin to plan a get away. Finally the time I can actually go away has arrived and boy am I excited!

My darling friends are getting married in Kenya and when the blushing bride first invited me I was reluctant. The thought of flying to a new country, attending a wedding where most people are strangers and sticking around for a few days after she heads off on her honeymoon made me nervous. Travelling alone?! who does that? Turns out…….the answer is me! Suddenly the very reasons that caused my hesitation are the same causing my excitement. I cant wait to meet new people, make new friends, lie on the beach and drink an exotic cocktail and to drown myself in an extra large bottle of sunscreen #excitementreigns

“A journey is like marriage. The certain way to be wrong is to think you control it”  John Steinbeck

It’s no secret to anyone who knows me that I like to be prepared. I like to do all my groundwork beforehand so that whatever I do is stressfree. This is especially so when planning what I will wear. I plan outfits weeks in advance. Yes. I said weeks. A holiday poses a unique challenge in that one does not really know what to expect. I swear all that’s going through my mind while I’m at work are outfits, fantasies and imaginary cocktails. I’m trying to be zen and accept John Steinbeck’s wise words but the wheels just wont stop turning!

I’m so excited!!!!!!

“Travel develops the mind, if you have one of course!” ~ G Chesterton

