“If you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams and you will always look lovely.” ~Roald Dahl

I have always heard it said that if you are happy on the inside it will make you look beautiful. I never really believed it until now. Last month was a difficult one for me and in one week I did two things that were extremely out of character. I lost my cool on the hockey field and threw my hockey stick (shameful) and I cried at the office when my boss came down hard on me (shameful taboo). Both these things were shockingly out of character for me and I held a personal intervention, prayed, soaked myself in a bubble-bath,  washed my hair with strawberry scented shampoo and rested. I sought out my inner Chi who had gone on an unauthorised vacation.

Aaaaaand now…..(drum roll please)…guess who’s back? Back again! My Chi is back! Tell a friend! #singing

OK, seriously, I’m grateful I found my equilibrium and I know I found it because the HR manager has gone back to asking if its my laughter she can hear from her office. But of course! No one else dares laugh that loud on the Executive Floor. I can’t seem to help it. It just bubbles out…. sometimes its a really loud bubble. I prank my sister! I laugh. I cry over hero(ine) scenes in my favorite series and I hug my friend’s little boy all the time. Yes! I’m back!

My one friend at the office commented on how happy I seem lately. She said it shows in my hair, my face and even in my voice. Though it occurred to me then that what might be making my hair beautiful is the divine mahogany colour I have at the moment #chuckles# and not some inner joy I kept my big mouth shut. Then she thoroughly cracked me up by adding…do you have a man because if you don’t, I feel for your ex! I’m still single so she can feel away LOL. All I know is I’m not sitting on the edge anymore and oh what a feeling!

I thank God for being the gooey stuff that holds me together when I threaten to come unstuck. For loving me unconditionally. For keeping me safe. For blessing me with amazing friends. For filling my soul with laughter. For being my father. For being.

“People are just as happy as they make up their minds to be.” ~ Abraham Lincoln

