“Dress shabbily and they remember the dress; dress impeccably and they remember the woman.” ~ Coco Chanel
What to wear? What to wear? What to wear?

While I’m all for beauty being on the inside and beauty over brains (after all I like to think I’m intelligent and on a good day….very witty), I feel one can never underestimate the power of making an impression without uttering a single word. Ours, much as we would like to deny it, is a superficial society where one is judged first by how they look and all else later. In addition to that I love looking chic simply because I can.


A girl should be two things: who and what she wants.” ~ Coco Chanel


As you can imagine then, a wedding in a foreign country poses a unique challenge for me. An outfit must be chosen with careful consideration to the social context in which it will be worn. Kenya is partly Muslim, partly Christian. That means my outfits (not just the wedding outfit) must be tasteful, classy and elegant.

“Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance.” ~ Coco Chanel


Of course i wouldn’t mind a hint of sexy but if Coco Chanel is to be believed

“… A woman is closest to being naked when she is well-dressed.” ~ Coco Chanel


Any African girl knows that the safest bet when picking a wedding outfit is traditional attire. I’m leaning heavily towards a traditional dress at the moment. A quick look at Ghanain Designer Duaba Serwa’s latest collection convinced me that I’m on the right track. One dress in particular appeals to me immensely… simple and elegant.

This dress would be absolutely stunning with red stilettos. A plain wide-band gold bracelet , striking earrings and a thin gold neck piece. I have a long neck and not wearing a necklace with a boob tube dress is not an option.

Question is can I work this dress? If I put it on would I own it? I have no doubt I would.

“A beautiful dress may look beautiful on a hanger, but that means nothing. It must be seen on the shoulders, with the movement of the arms, the legs, and the waist.” ~ Coco Chanel


This dress (or one like it) is currently the top contender for my wedding outfit but I’ happily casting my eye around in case I spot something else that makes my heart skip a beat.
