“If I talk a little louder, If I speak up when you’re wrong, If I walk a little taller, I’ve been under you too long; If you notice that I’m different, Don’t take it personally, Don’t be mad, It’s just a brand new kinda me,That ain’t bad, I found a brand new kinda free” ~ Brand New Me by Alicia Keys

Happy New Year to everyone. I suppose this should have been my first post of the year but I always manage to miss the social convention boat. 2012 is done and my resolutions for that year were to step out of my comfortzone, to meet new people, to jump off a cliff or two. I did all of that. I made my mistakes. I had my fun. I made new friends. I ditched a few old ones. I learnt to love babies (yes! that’s an achievement for me). I broke my own rules. I laughed. I cried. I learnt. I grew. I found a new version of me at every turn. I learnt who I am. I cut my hair. And then I cut it again, And then I cut it again. I went off to Kenya. I lived.

Now on to the next one…..


“The secret to living the life of your dreams is to start living the life of your dreams today, in every little way you possibly can”. Mike Dooley

2013 is here and my resolutions are many. Mixed in with the super important ones like how I really should learn to match my panties and my bra when I get dressed, how I should remember to wax more regularly and my dedication to discovering a cure for farting, are the smaller ones like the need to be focused on my goals, committed to excellence and growing financially. Perhaps as a by product of living fully in 2012, I have a very clear vision of what I want from life and where I want to go…. the top. In my line of work, continuing education is key to achieving much of what I want to achieve. Therefore this year I shall finish my Masters Degree and I shall pick up a diploma in corporate law. Perhaps one day I will get a doctorate but that’s a resolution for another year. I have a vision of where I want to be and I have it in my power to get there so I’m fresh out of excuses….lingerie store here I come.

“Start by doing what’s necessary; then do what’s possible; and suddenly you are doing the impossible.” Saint Francis of Assisi

I love love love music and Alicia Keys’ new album seems like a special dedication to me. I love it. It will be the soundtrack to my life over the next 12 months. The song “Brand New Me” speaks to all I discovered in 2012. To accept my quirkiness, the hand life has dealt me, the fact that my bum is not as big as I would like it to be, that I love dancing, that I’m not afraid of life, that I’m deathly afraid of love, that I’m a flirt, that everything I touch and fully commit to, turns to gold (if it turns to dust the dust is golden too lol), that I’m a fierce hockey player, that I love to travel, that I can not list all the things that make me me. Anyone who knows me shouldn’t be too worried, I just found a brand new kind of free.

You don’t need endless time and perfect conditions. Do it now. Do it today. Do it for twenty minutes and watch your heart start beating. Barbara Sher

I know that some people out there had a difficult 2012. I know what that feels like. To start a year feeling like you are running on empty with everyone telling you happy new year when it not. What I have learnt from experience can be summed up in one sentence:

If all you can do is crawl, start crawling. -Rumi

While I contemplate growing my hair, kissing a boy, getting another degree, getting rid of tatty underwear and moving house, let me always remember to put God first. To focus, commit and excel. To live. To Laugh. To love.

Here’s a toast to 2013.



Some stories don’t have a clear beginning, middle and end. Life is about not knowing, having to change, taking the moment and making the best of it, without knowing what’s going to happen next. Delicious ambiguity. -Gilda Radner

