“Money is like a sixth sense – and you can’t make use of the other five without it.” – William Somerset Maugham

One of my resolutions for 2013 is to grow financially. In order to do that I must obviously make more money but even more important than making more money, I must retain the money that I make.

“The art is not in making money, but in keeping it.” – Proverb

My plan to grow my little money tree goes something like this:

1. Limit or do away with debt.

I will do this by paying off what I owe and avoiding making unnecessary purchases on credit as far as possible. Like most other girls I like pretty things (and shoes. Lord knows I love shoes) so this will be very hard for me. Be that as it may, I need to invest in a debt free future so I shall have to keep my champagne tastes in line with my beer money.

“My problem lies in reconciling my gross habits with my net income.” – Errol Flynn

I must learn to buy only what I can afford.

“The art of living easily as to money is to pitch your scale of living one degree below your means.” – Sir Henry Taylor

2.Open a limited access savings account.

In this country banks offer a 32 day bank account. This is an account you can deposit into any time and the funds earn interest. The trick is you can only with draw from the account after giving the bank 32 days notice of your intention to do so. This forces you to think a little bit harder about a way around your need and to make alternative arrangement because honestly, 32 days is a long cooling off period.

People are generally reluctant to save before they get this or that or finish doing this or that but start small. Saving is a habit. Before you know it you will have a nest egg of note that can make a huge difference in your time of need or when you are finally ready to take a little holiday or to invest in property.

“A penny saved is a penny earned.” – Benjamin Franklin

3. Take a home made lunch to work more often than not

We unintentionally spend a fortune when we buy lunch at work. The same fortune we could save if we just put aside a little something at dinner time to take to work. Seeing as I have 2 siblings, one of us must always rustle up dinner and lunch for the others and if there’s a roster we are more likely to keep to it than if its each man for himself…

“If you would be wealthy, think of saving as well as getting.” – Ben Franklin

4. Be smart about grocery shopping

Shop around. Get good deals on the things you like. Check out the specials. Buy what you can in bulk. Inspire yourself to eat at home instead of popping out to the nearest fast food joint. It makes a world of difference.

“Money will come when you are doing the right thing.” – Mike Phillips

5. Increase my earning capacity

The more I study, the more I am worth to my firm and the more they are willing to pay me. The more efficient and productive I am at work, the more I will earn. I am completing my Masters Degree and and I accepted an offer to study Advanced Company Law this year.

“Every day I get up and look through the Forbes list of the richest people in America. If I’m not there, I go to work.” – Robert Orben

6. To remember what’s important

“It’s good to have money and the things that money can buy, but it’s good, too, to check up once in a while and make sure that you haven’t lost the things that money can’t buy.” – George Lorimer

