“This life is for loving, sharing, learning, smiling, caring, forgiving, laughing, hugging, helping, dancing, wondering, healing, and even more loving. I choose to live life this way. I want to live my life in such a way that when I get out of bed in the morning, the devil says, ‘aw shit, he’s up!”
― Steve Maraboli

This post is inspired by a blog I recently discovered and and instantly fell head over heels in love with. 21stCenturyCareerMom. What I love the most about it is how relevant it is to every woman’s everyday life. Dealing with househelp, juggling a career and family responsibility, prayer and spirituality, neighbourhood what whats, cheating and men. Being a woman.

Being a woman is a terribly difficult task, since it consists principally in dealing with men. ~Joseph Conrad

 All this delivered in a delightful mix of serious thought-provoking truth, delightful anecdotes and a lot of laughs. This blog is a gem.

“If you have a candle, the light won’t glow any dimmer if I light yours off of mine.”
Steven Tyler

After sending a few of the posts to all my friends and having a good giggle and plotting to buy new underwear (remember this is one of my new year’s resolutions as per this post), I started thinking more about this woman’s blog. Her name is Hazel. She sounds very young to me and yet she also sounds wise. They say with age comes wisdom, but sometimes, too often in fact, age shows up all by itself. For the lucky few, like Hazel, wisdom shows up all by itself.

Growing up is not easy and we all need as much help as we can get. Growing up into a good woman who successfully juggles a career, motherhood and a home is even harder. A couple of weeks ago, the High Court passed a judgment decriminalising consensual sexual intercourse between children aged 12 – 16. The judgment says that the children need to be able to freely approach family planning clinics and abortion clinics for help etc. Is this what twelve year olds get up to these days? Family planning? At 12 I had not fully grasped where children come from let alone actually conceptualised trying it. I had homework to do. Parenting is not for the faint of heart and it is getting harder. We need God and we need each other.

Because I am a woman, I must make unusual efforts to succeed. If I fail, no one will say, “She doesn’t have what it takes.” They will say, “Women don’t have what it takes.” ~Clare Boothe Luce

 As women we need to support each other in whatever ways we can. To teach each other. To remind each other to wear pretty underpinnings. To encourage each other to hit the gym. To do those sit-ups. To pray. To remember in the hustle and bustle of life to take a minute just to be. To love ourselves. To love our children. To love God. To breathe and appreciate it. Every now and then, to rock his world and make him see stars just to remind him who owns him. To light each other’s candles. I am certainly lighting my candle off Hazel’s and learning a lot one blog post at a time. I have no doubt that when Hazel gets out of bed every morning, the devil says ‘aw shit, she’s up!”

We should all endeavour to be that kind of woman. After reading Hazel’s blog I shall certainly try.

“Share your knowledge. It is a way to achieve immortality.” ~ Dalai Lama XIV

