Image:Get a Flat Stomach Step 6.jpg

Take care of your body, it’s the only place you have to live. ~ Jim Rohn

I am a bit of a fitness junkie. I don’t particularly like exercising but I love the end product. I love looking good and feeling good. Be that as it may, a lot of times, I find it’s not easy to motivate myself to get up off the bed (my favourite spot) and do what I need to do.

I was very chubby right until my early twenties and it’s only in my mid to late twenties (i.e. now), that I have finally worked out how to keep in shape. I thought I would share a little of what I have learnt in this post. While I’m at it, I will break one of my own blogging rules and post an actual picture or two of myself so you can at least see the end product

Tips:

1. Hydrate

Whether you are working out or sitting at your desk, drink lots of water. It works wonders for your skin, hair and health. You may have to make your way to the bathroom more often than you would like but it’s worth it.

Nothing beats water, but if you are not in the mood try fruit, fruit juice, green tea or herbal tea. I personally hate green tea. I think it smells like boiled grass. I have a cup once in a while but not very often. I drink lots of water and I love fruit flavoured tea.

2. Get a routine

When I get up in the morning, I make my bed, walk to the lounge, stick my feet under the couch and do 50 stomach crunches and then hit the shower. When I started I dreaded it but it has become such a part of my routine I don’t even think about it. I just go and do it. The human body adjusts to a routine quickly. The same way, you tend to feel sleepy about the same time every night, or you learn to wake up at 2am to check on your infant, so the body adjusts to exercising regularly. Push past the initial resistance.

If a man achieves victory over this body, who in the world can exercise power over him? He who rules himself rules over the whole world.~ Vinoba Bhave
 

3. Just Do It (Nike)

This is something Nike got right. Don’t think too hard about exercise. You know you need to do it. You know you don’t like it. You know you will love the end result. So Just Do It.

4. Join a team sport/ join a gym/ getting a diligent running mate

It’s always easier to work out when you are accountable to someone else. I am not a fan of the gym. I dont even have a subscription buuuuut I love hockey so I joined a club. There’s nothing like knowing you will get a long speech from the coach about commitment if you don’t show up for training, to get one off the couch.

If you are a member of the gym, join a class. This will give you that extra motivation to get up and go. If you can afford one, get a personal trainer. Get a gym buddy or running mate and do your thing together. It will be a lot harder to just decide you are not in the mood.

5. What is your goal?

A lot of people are focused on weight loss. I tend to prefer to curves. My ultimate goal is muscle tone and good health. I want to be curvy but I want everything to be firmly in place. In fact, my goal over the next 6 months is to get super toned abs (a hint of a six pack) without making my bum any smaller. In this bootylicious day and age, losing my already too-small-for-my-tastes bum would be losing an asset lol!

If your goal is weight loss it is important to remember  Exercise to stimulate, not to annihilate. The world wasn’t formed in a day, and neither were we. Set small goals and build upon them.” ~ Lee Haney

On the health side of things I find I kick flus and all other pesky little bugs a lot faster when I am working out.

6. Eat healthy

I don’t diet but I also do not over indulge. When I feel like slap chips (Lord! I love slap chips) I have them. But I always make sure I put in a little extra effort or an extra few minutes or an extra set of crunches the next time I work out. We work too hard to not have the things we like. Just remember, over indulgence will undo all of your hard work.
 
And I believe that the best buy in public health today must be a combination of regular physical exercise and a healthy diet. ~ Julie Bishop

What do you do to keep fit and healthy?

So this is me…
