I’m undaunted in my quest to amuse myself by constantly changing my hair. ~ Hillary Clinton

Don’t be fooled by my little picture…..my hair is not natural or particularly long. Its short and relaxed. But Barbie has an afro. How could I not use that picture.


AND how could I not use this one???? So many memories come flooding back when I look at this picture LOL…but that’s a subject for another post.

Right. Now that that’s out of the way…..Down to business. I need some excitement in my life hairwise. Now that I’m bored with my short cut, I have decided to grow my hair again. Growing healthy hair is a bit of a mission *sigh* I generally prefer to grow natural hair and then straighten it when it’s maybe shoulder length. I prefer this because that way, the hair is generally healthier.

However, keeping natural hair is a mission and a half especially for someone like me…..who simply can not keep her hair in plaits. It was fine in varsity and high school because I had all the time in the world. I always had one funky time consuming hairstyle or another. Now, its a little tricky. I work 12 hours a day and I need easy hair……. problem is what  kind of hairstyle is that?

I have had braids for about a month and they look tired. They are also boring me. I would re-braid in a different colour but I don’t want to stress my hair or my hairline. Cornrows maybe? But I think those things hate me. Is it just me or do they look really untidy after a couple of weeks? It doesn’t make them very cost effective. Then there is always a weave….. I can weave my own hair which is a plus but I hate the way those things shed. When I wear a weave I feel like I’m perpetually sweeping hair. Really now! I could be living life instead of sweeping. I could always get a short weave….. that hardly sheds buuuuut I have a bit of a long nose and short short weaves always manage to enhance that particular feature of mine lol. I can do without that thank you.

As you can see I’m fast running out of options. I have seen a few women sporting a curly perm or dry perm….I’m not sure what exactly it’s called but it looks interesting. I may try that just for fun.  I really need ideas to protect my hair and encourage healthy growth because bad hair can kill any outfit.

“She was the most beautiful creature on Earth – her hair said so in that language only hair can speak.”  ~  Gabriel Bá, Daytripper

