“The earth has music for those who listen.”  ~    George Santayana

As I may have mentioned in a previous post or two, whenever I can spare a few cents, I  love to travel and see new places. Over this past Easter weekend my friend and I went to arguably the most scenic province in South Africa, Mpumalanga. I am always hesitant when people rave about how beautiful a place is because I hate nothing more than disappointment. So when we set off on Friday morning I was cautiously optimistic. Turns out I need not have worried. The place blew my mind. The rolling hills, the miles of beautiful greenery, the waterfalls, the people (some of whom seem to be stuck in 1920), the animals……..

I visited a whole lot of places but here are a few photos of my favourite spots….

God’s window

God’s window was not what I expected. The trek to the top of mountain is not for sissys but I loved every minute. It’s hard to not feel a little bit closer to God when you see world from the top of the mountain…. the view into the valley below is what is referred to as God’s window. To get to the very top of the mountain one must also walk through a rainforest of sorts….my senses were overwhelmed. No photo can do the place justice. If you should ever visit the place pray for clear skies. My friend and I stayed on the mountain top until the fog cleared. He wasn’t about to trek up a mountain and not see what God’s window was truly about 🙂 It was so worth it.

 
“We know that God is everywhere; but certainly we feel His presence most when His works are on the grandest scale spread before us; and it is in the unclouded night-sky, where His worlds wheel their silent course, that we read clearest His infinitude, His omnipotence, His omnipresence.” ~ Charlotte Brontë, Jane Eyre
 
 
 
 
Gorge’s View
 
 

 In the picture above the water flows down a waterfall a few metres away into the gorge where the rock formation (aka the pinnacle) stands….. stunning. 
 
 
Mac Mac Falls
 


These falls are beautiful but I didn’t enjoy them much because the viewing point has a security fence around it. I know its for our safety buuuuut…….

 
“The poetry of the earth is never dead.”  ~    John Keats

There are lots of waterfalls in and around the area…..lone creek falls, horseshoe falls etc. They are a dime a dozen and they are all gorgeous. 
 
Mac Mac Pools
 
These pools are a short drive away from the falls and were my favourite place by far. Its a stream with intermittent pools with deep still water you can swim or sit in. The rocks underneath are fairly slippery so one must be careful. There is a beautiful picnic area around the pools so its a great place to hang out for the day with the family.
 
 
“Earth and sky, woods and fields, lakes and rivers, the mountain and the sea, are excellent schoolmasters, and teach some of us more than we can ever learn from books.”  ~    John Lubbock
 
 
A few of the animals 
 

 
 
 
 “I like this place and could willingly waste my time in it.”  ~    William Shakespeare
 

