source

Sometimes its just best to accept what’s done is done, let it go and move on, tomorrow is a new day what you thought was the end might just be your new beginning.
 
 
Lately, I am incredibly restless at work. I don’t feel the same sort of excitement or love for my job that I had before. I continue to learn new things though not as much as before. It leads me to believe that I am nearing the end of my journey with this firm. It may be time for me to move on. It’s very unlike me to feel unmotivated about my job. I am very career oriented. I voluntarily put in long hours and sometimes even weekends because I love working.
 
My rationale is simple. I spend 5 of the 7 days in the week at work. Loving my job is therefore not optional. I can not accept being unhappy with a place where I spend so much of my life. I would be miserable if I had to work 5 days a week somewhere that I hate.
 
One must not just sit back and complain when displeased with a situation. If I am unhappy I must take control of the situation. So I have put together a little plan of action. I will speak to my boss tactfully about getting more responsibility, spreading my wings etc. I will see if I can get her to give me a little more excitement. Earlier this year she trusted me to bring home our firm’s largest merger to date and I did. She had serious doubts that I could but I proved her wrong. She thought that it was perhaps too big a task for my level of experience. I got a huge adrenalin rush from that. After that, everything seems mundane and boring. Now that I have had a taste of the games the big boys play I want to play that game too.
 
While I wait to see if speaking to the boss lady yields the desired results I will dust off the old CV. Perhaps it’s time to see what the market has to offer. It could either be so bad I will be inspired to love and be grateful for my current job again or I could find a new start and new inspiration in a new capacity elsewhere. Who knows? What I do know for certain is nothing ventured, nothing gained.
