“Give a girl the right shoes, and she can conquer the world.” ~ Marilyn Monroe
 
How right Marilyn Monroe was. There is always that pair of shoes that transforms you when you put it on. It gives you that perfect mix of power and sexiness that makes you feel like you can indeed conquer the world. I had that pair of shoes. They were ridiculously high heeled, impossibly comfortable black pumps and I loved them. My go to shoes. I wore them to the office, to cocktail parties, to seminars, to church….to the club. They fit in perfectly with jeans, a skirt, a dress….ummmmm nothing. They were that pair of shoes.
 
Alas, with great usefulness comes great use. My darling shoes are finally dead. First the tips wore off. That was nothing. That’s what the shady cobbler with an old singer sewing machine, leather apron  and stinky glue in his little stall in the flea market is for. The tips were replaced for a small fee. Then sole wore off and that had to be replaced too. Then the sole came off and yes, I had it glued back on. I was not giving up. Then a scratch or two appeared in the leather ….. nothing nail polish or a dab of shoe polish can’t hide effectively.
 
But now the war has been lost. The little hairline cracks in the leather have started to tear open. I cant think of a clever way to fix this. After 5 years of diligent and regular service, I must bid adieu to my loyal lovers. They served me well. If I could go back in time I would buy 5 pairs of this shoe…..3 of them black because now I know that magic shoes like this are only on the shelf for a short while and then you can never ever find them again….no matter how hard or how often you look. *sigh* Such a letter to my younger self moment.
 
I guess now I’m in the market for a new pair… It has such big shoes to fill 😉
“For women, shoes are the most important. Good shoes take you good places.”  ~ Seo Min Hyun
