The Three Ages of Marriage: Twenty is when you watch the TV after. Forty is when you watch the TV during. Sixty is when you watch the TV instead.” ~ unknown
 
I am sure marriage has never been easy but more and more I am starting to believe that making a marriage work is much harder than I had ever imagined. When people speak of marriage lately it almost seems synonymous with stories of infidelity, abuse, loss of passion and divorce. Some people speak of their happiness in marriage but they are so few. Celebrities are the easiest to use as examples because we all know them. We all know of the 72 day marriage and other the countless divorces and yet we can count on our fingers the successful celebrity marriages. They are that few. At the same we all personally know people who have been in and out of a marriage at speed, who are in a marriage and seem unhappy, who have suffered or inflicted the pain of infidelity, who have been abused or are abusers, who are just bored with their marriage…. the list is endless. The ones who seem truly happy, who you have to admire and who a single girl can aspire to emulate are few. Perhaps they know a secret no one else knows? I can not help but wonder. I pray that when I do get married God will lead my way in making my marriage successful.
 
This little outpouring resulted from a facebook post by Tina of Mary Mary. In a magazine article some time ago she revealed her husband had cheated on her and she had been shattered by it. Here is her very recent facebook post asking her fans to help her pray to save her marriage. I imagine that dealing with challenges of any sort in a relationship is not easy. I also imagine it must be ten times worse to deal with such things knowing the entire world is watching.
 
“Hi fans and friends. It’s Tina. I hope all of you are well and I thank you for all the love and support you’ve shown my sister and I over the years.
Well, I’m actually writing you on behalf of my husband Teddy and I.

I’m assuming that many of you have seen or heard about our article in Ebony that discussed the challenges of overcoming infidelity in our marriage.

Well since the article, the challenges have worsened.

My hope turned into hopelessness & despair and I became unwilling to forgive and fight, until God showed me myself.

My husband’s struggle, was with intimate immorality BUT I have struggled with anger, rage, unforgiveness, pride, just to name a few, for over 2 decades.

The devil wanted to use strongholds that took hold of our lives in our childhood, to remain and destroy us as adult. So now instead of being mad at each other we’re mad at the devil and we’re ready to fight.

Today we began a 30 day fast (May 24th-June 22nd) for complete deliverance & restoration.

If you are able to, please fast and/or pray daily that God would answer our prayer and give us a deeper love & commitment to him and to each other. We believe He still works miracles and He can give us the greatest marriage we could have ever imagined. We can pray alone BUT your prayers will certainly help.”

