irony-guide-dogs-blind-read-wytch-demotivational-posters-1314762209

Irony is Fate’s most common figure of speech.”  ~  Trevanian, Shibumi  

I have had one of my all time favorite golden oldies on replay lately…. Isn’t it Ironic by Alanis Morissette. Please forgive me if I misspelt her name. I don’t think I ever get that spelling right. How ironic is that given the fact that she sang one of my favorite songs. Even more so because the song is about life’s irony *sigh.* Do you see where I am going with this?

The gist of the song is:

“… life has a funny way of sneaking up on you
When you think everything’s okay and everything’s going right
And life has a funny way of helping you out when
You think everything’s gone wrong and everything blows up in your face”

Listening to this over and over again got me thinking about irony’s greatest hits in my life in no particular order:

  1. I have been the victim of a robbery and assault at gunpoint. And guess who followed me from an ATM, put a gun to my head and took my money? You guessed it….  Uniformed police officers.
  2. Last year I desperately wanted to attend a wedding in a beautiful little town 400km away in my brand new little car. At the last-minute my finances crashed and I couldn’t go. I was so distraught I cried. On the wedding day there was a hail storm of epic proportions in that town and every car suffered at least R30 000 ($3 000) worth of damage. I figured God knew that was the bill I really couldn’t afford.
  3. *Overshare*… A few years ago I remember confiding in my then best friend that I thought my then boyfriend was seeing someone else behind my back but I couldn’t be sure and her assuring me I had an overactive imagination…. guess who he was seeing?
  4. Unemployed and desperate, 4 years ago, I walked an endless road in scorching sun from office to office dropping off copies of my CV. When my feet were blistered (they later turned black temporarily), my face, arms and hands were hopelessly sunburnt, covered from head to toe in dust and my spirit was well and truly broken, I decided to use my last R10 ($1) to take a bus home. As I stood at the bus stop I noticed an unassuming office across the street… guess where I have been working for 4 years?
  5. The most unforgettable for me is how much easier it was to break up with my ex versus how incredibly hard and emotional it was to break up with his mother. We went out to lunch and I explained as best as I could what had happened and she cried up a storm. I remember dashing about snatching serviettes from nearby tables, getting dirty glances from other patrons for making my mum cry and hugging her while trying to convince her it would all be OK and he would find someone else she would love too.
  6. Early last year, after a difficult breakup, I decided my idea of how I wanted to be loved may be a little too much for the world. I decided to stop looking and to focus on making money and to forget about love. Just when I had wrapped my head around it….. I met him.

Isn’t life just full of irony…

