scr-chelsea-s-screensaver

If  we had a starting XI that no one could argue about it wouldn’t say a lot for  English football. We’d probably be on a downward spiral. It’s good that people  have different ideas about who should play. ~ Rio Ferdinard

The fact that I love English Football is often a surprise to most people. What surprises them even more is that I love it so much I play fantasy football. Even more unsettling for most males is I can easily discuss the pros and cons of most players and coaches lol. There is always that sudden silence in the conversation when I chime into a football conversation with my 2 cents. If only you could have seen the look on my boyfriend’s face when he found me cracking my skull trying to balance my allocated budget and the talent when I purchased my fantasy team at the beginning of the season. He simply could not believe it. He told all his friends that just when he thinks I have fully tipped my cup of weirdness on him, I unleash a little more.

The fantasy league has got off to a very shaky start for me. My starting 15 had a dismal opening and I scored minimal points (40s and 50s per week). Nobody wants that. *sigh* So I busily got to re-arranging the budget, trading and transferring. I brought in the performers. True to Murphy’s law, everyone I transferred out immediately started performing better. The little buggers are raking in the points for other people and my newly minted purchases are not *bummer*. I have now made more transfers, bought a couple of dream team players and spread my risk a little. I am hoping it all balances itself out. I hate losing. At the very least I want to end up in the top 3 of the office private league. 😉

In the real world, my team, Chelsea has had an interesting start to the season. After the fracas of coach firing and hiring last season (remember RDM? and poor Benitez?), the announcement of Mourinho’s return to not just English football, but to Chelsea was akin to the second coming for most Chelsea Fans. Mourinho was hailed as “the One.” But we all know that we build them up to tear them down. Chelsea has not got off to the dream start we would have liked. The One benched Mata and Bertrand for most of the opening games. Anyone who knows the way in which Mata can 2 step with a ball on the field or the way he combines with Hazard and Oscar like a dream will join me in my confusion. Why bench the talent? I hope our fearless coach has not let his ego get the better of him.

Last week in the opening UEFA games, Chelsea was dismal to watch. Naturally we lost to Basil. The chemistry just wasn’t there. Instead we played like long distance lovers in those first awkward moments when the memory doesn’t match the reality. I was so annoyed. Arsenal and Manchester United Fans went to town on twitter lol. I would have done the same if I was them. Then the universe gave me a little balm for my sore heart… Manchester United went down to Manchester City in spectacular fashion. 4-1. Those 4 goals went in so fast that it was like watching the highlight reel of the match lol. By The time Man U pulled one back they couldn’t even celebrate. They just walked back to their positions lol! Naturally I went wild on twitter lol. My favourite tweet (I can’t remember the source), was something like “Man U is being molested by Man City” LOL.

Last night Chelsea ended the perfect football weekend by beating Swindon 2 – 0 in the Capitol Cup. Of course, Mata and Bertrand were both fielded in that particular game. *hint hint* to the One.

It’s possible that this season the EPL may not be as predictable as it had become in recent years *side eye to Man U fans*. Now that would be a real treat. Easy example, right now, Arsenal is sitting on top of the league table and in recent times that has only happened when teams were arranged alphabetically LOL. Arsenal fans are besides themselves with delight. It spices up the competition and I am so looking forward to the rest of the season.

