Designs-for-Kids_-Happy-New-Year-2014-n-4

“Life is an endless cycle of souls, swirling along the path of the universe, being reborn, but never truly dying before being reborn again. As long as this cycle continues, we will never really die.”  ~    Ameila Wolfe

It’s the beginning of yet another year, and again, I am late with my new year post. I know you are not surprised :). It’s that magical time of the year when somehow, it seems like we all get a chance to hit the reset button on nearly everything. Somehow, our minds and attitude kick into renewal and rebirth gear. It’s that time of year when we dust off our old selves, and attack the business of living with new zeal.

For some its the time of year when new resolutions are made or old ones are remembered. For others, it is that time of the year when they wonder how it is they are broke every January and they start counting the days to payday.

Last year at this point I made a few resolutions in this post, “new year, new beginnings.” While I failed spectacularly at finding a cure for farting, waxing regularly and always matching my panties and bra, I did manage to get a few things right. I managed to complete a course in advanced company law with distinction. I managed to open a savings account and to save a few cents. I managed to move house and I managed to get my debt completely under control. Remember this “A Financially Savvy 2013.” I am particularly proud of that. I am also grateful because I know this was God’s grace at work even when I did not ask.

This year, my game plan is different and far simpler. This year my main goal is to put Jesus first. My soul needs nurturing. Secondary to that will be all the other super important stuff like reading more (because my vocabulary has gone to the dogs), avoiding office gossip (it’s toxic), growing into my new position at work (I got a little promotion at the end of last year) and….you guessed it, pass my next course’s board exams. I am certain I have undiagnosed perpetual student syndrome. *sigh*

While I’m at it, it would be nice to put my brother through varsity, grow my hair, learn a few more recipes, satisfy a little more of my wander-lust, laugh more, love more, complain less and to get through physio so I can start wearing heels again. 2014 will be a good year.

While I go about the business of making 2014 what I hope it will be, let me always remember to put God first. To focus, commit and excel. To live. To Laugh. To love.

“The secret to living the life of your dreams is to start living the life of your dreams today, in every little way you possibly can”. Mike Dooley

Here’s a toast to 2014. It will be one for the record books.

