Image

source

“In Internet slang, a troll (/ˈtrl/, /ˈtrɒl/) is a person who sows discord on the Internet by starting arguments or upsetting people, by posting inflammatory, extraneous, or off-topic messages in an online community (such as a forum, chat room, or blog) with the deliberate intent of provoking readers into an emotional response or of otherwise disrupting normal on-topic discussion.” ~ Wikipedia

An amazing mind out there decided to give us the world wide web. A powerful tool to bring the world together. A tool to share ideas and to engage on a never before seen level with people all over the world at the same time. Above and beyong that, the world wide web gave us anonymity. Along with this great power came great responsibility (see what I did there ;)). There are many reasons to be anonymous on the internet but it never ceases to amaze me that some people choose to use that anonymity to hurt others for no reason other than that there is no accountability.

I never paid much attention to internet trolls until I joined instagram because as soon as you come to an image, you will see the last few comments. Jeepers! People can be mean. I am not a fan of Kim K but when she had her baby I went to her instagram account and to take a look at her bundle of joy (or the homing beacon on her compass if you wish). Just as I was thinking “what a cute little bambino” this comment popped up from an anonymous account: “This child is the spawn of the devil and I hope it killed by rabid dogs” or something to that effect. No matter how much I dislike a person, I would never say that to them, let alone say it about an innocent child. I sincerely doubt anyone would unless they knew for sure no one would ever know it was them.

There were so many more and far worse comments on Kim K and other celebrities’ instagram accounts (as well as any anyone else who seems to be popular on social media) that I began to wonder about this creature called the internet troll. Does one derive some sort of satisfaction from such behaviour. I think it’s evidence of a sick mind. This is why I was firmly in Deontay Wilder, the champion boxer’s corner, when he sought out his internet troll and knocked him out in a fight. His internet troll wrote about degrading sexual things he would do to Deontay’s daughter who suffers from spina bifida, made racial remarks on social media and even called his home to threaten him. The internet troll went on to challenge the boxer to a fight (smh) and got his just desserts. I suppose we should come up with the dutch courage equivalent for the internet for those people who feel invincible when they are tapping away anonymously on a keypad.

While I love what this boxer did, I think the best way to deal with these creatures is to just ignore them. Ain’t nobody got time for that.

troll-web

source

 

