forest in a teacup

“One’s Personal Legend is what you have always wanted to accomplish. Everyone, when they are young, knows what their Personal Legend is. “At that point in their lives, everything is clear and everything is possible. They are not afraid to dream, and to yearn for everything they would like to see happen to them in their lives. But, as time passes, a mysterious force begins to convince them that it will be impossible for them to realize their Personal Legend….whoever you are, or whatever it is that you do, when you really want something, it’s because that desire originated in the soul of the universe. It’s your mission on earth” – The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho

Happy New Year Folks!

I trust the holiday was what it should be? Mine was spent in Kenya and was a bit nerve-wracking but that is a story for another day. Today’s story is this new year that came around so so fast. 2014 was an absolute blur wasn’t it?!

Usually I have a few resolutions but this year is different. This year shall be dedicated to one resolution only – personal and spiritual growth. This is so broad that I dare not take on anything else. This year will be about prayer, inner peace and being a better friend, sister, colleague, woman, girlfriend, person and human being. This year is about progress not perfection.

On my travels I managed to squeeze in reading Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert a second time. This time I appreciated it more and I took a couple of lessons from there to start me off on my journey through 2015.

The most poignant, and perhaps even most pragmatic lesson, is that “Prayer is a relationship; half the job is mine. If I want transformation, but can’t even be bothered to articulate what, exactly, I’m aiming for, how will it ever occur? Half the benefit of prayer is in the asking itself, in the offering of clearly posed and well-considered intentions. If you don’t have this, all your pleas and desires are boneless, floppy, inert: they swirl at your feet in a cold fog and never lift. So now I take the time every morning to search myself for specificity about what I’m truly asking for. I kneel there [in the temple] with my face on that cold, marble for as long as it takes me to formulate an authentic prayer. If I don’t feel sincere, then I will stay there on the floor until I do. What worked yesterday, doesn’t always work today. Prayers can become stale and drone into the boring and familiar if you let your attention stagnate. In making an effort to stay alert, I am assuming custodial responsibility for the maintenance of my own soul.” Eat pray love, Elizabeth Gilbert

How true.

In addition, to prayer, one needs to understand the interplay between divinity and self. One must understand the duty to take control of what we can. It calls to mind Paulo Coelho’s book, the Alchemist where he says “..it ends up saying that everyone believes the world’s greatest lie.” “What’s the world’s greatest lie?” the boy asked, completely surprised. “It’s this: that at a certain point in our lives, we lose control of what’s happening to us, and our lives become controlled by fate. That’s the world’s greatest lie.” 

Eat, Pray, Love adds…”Destiny, I feel, is also a relationship – a play between divine grace and wilful self effort. Half of it you have no control over; half of it is absolutely in your hands, and your actions will show measurable consequence. Man is neither entirely a puppet of the gods, nor is he entirely the captain of his own destiny; he’s a little of both. We gallop through our lives like circus performers balancing on two speeding side-by-side horses – one foot on is on the horse called “fate,” the other on the horse called “free will.” And the question you have to ask everyday is – which horse is which? Which horse do I need to stop worrying about because it’s not under my control, and which do I need to steer with concentrated effort?”Eat pray love, Elizabeth Gilbert

Time to take control of myself, my relationship with God and my spiritual and personal growth. Time to own my free will!

Let the dance begin. Happy New Year Folks!!!

Time Flies

