the thinker

The Thinker (French: Le Penseur) is a bronze sculpture by Auguste Rodin, usually placed on a stone pedestal. The work shows a nude male figure of over life-size sitting on a rock with his chin resting on one hand as though deep in thought, and is often used as an image to represent philosophy. There are about 28 full size castings, in which the figure is about 186 centimetres (73 in) high, though not all were made during Rodin’s lifetime and under his supervision, as well as various other versions, several in plaster, studies, and posthumous castings, in a range of sizes. Rodin first conceived the figure as part of another work in 1880, but the first of the familiar monumental bronze castings did not appear until 1904.~ source

I love art. The Thinker is one of my favourite pieces because it represents thought. Just that. It doesn’t matter where you are on the scale of thought….be it profound philosophy or that your toe is itching. I can’t help but marvel at the magic that is man’s ability to converse with himself about all things under the sun in complete privacy.

When I am not thinking about profound things, I wander through the random unfinished thoughts my mind produces. Things like:

  1. How strange is it to ponder the term African American. What is that term meant to achieve or to point out exactly? I think Raven Simone is on to something here. If a white South African couple moved to the USA today and become American citizens, will their children be African American? if not, then why are African Americans not just Americans who descended from people who were originally from Africa.
  2. How different would life be for each of us if we had absolutely no insecurities. Do insecurities serve some vital role to keep us reaching a bit further and higher or do they keep us down? Would we be a better race of people if that little doubting voice inside did not exist? Would we be fearless or stupidly arrogant or both or more?
  3. Why do so many people act like turning 30 is a catastrophe? I turn 30 this year and I’m gleefully anticipating it. I have never been much of a birthday person so this excitement is new to me. I’m already planning my road trip to Knysna because my birthday coincides with a long weekend. Given that I have never planned or even thought about planning anything for my own birthday, this will tell you just how stoked I am. Perhaps the dark side will hit me later #shrugs
  4. What happens to a woman who has had a boob job’s boobs as she gets older? Do they stay perky and firm forever and ever and ever? Even when the skin around them wrinkles? That sounds like a good but slightly weird deal to me. Maybe something for me to consider doing after I have my last baby.
  5. What happens to those tattoos some younger women have on their lower tummies when they have babies? Do they come out on the other side unscathed? Do they get zebra stripes through them courtesy of the stretch marks?

cute-stomach-birds-tattoo-design

6.   How boring was that Fifty Shades of Grey movie? Much ado about nothing really.

7.  I wonder what it’s like to be a both a trophy wife/husband and a kept husband/wife? Is it blissful? Is it a nightmare? Is it just like being anyone else?

8. Because I was raised in a Christian family, I have never experienced life without my faith in God. It would be interesting to know how atheists perceive the world and how my view of the world might differ from that of a staunch atheist.

9. Why does the human race battle with the concept of love so much. Books, songs and even lives have been given in the name of love and yet no one knows all about it. There is no standard formula for finding it and getting it right. It has hurt all of us at least once and yet we pursue it relentlessly with all of our being. Isn’t that something!

10. Finally, do you remember the last time your heart broke? I do. I remember asking myself how it was that a muscle that had not been physically damaged in any way, hurt so much that it threatened to break through my ribcage. How do we get physical pain from emotional trauma? The human body is bizarre isn’t it.

Here’s a photo of Knysna. #June2015

century21-knysna-1331889360

