age

“When my grandmother was sick in the hospital, I foolishly quoted her the saying, ‘never regret growing old; it’s a privileged denied to many.’ She glared at me and responded, ‘spoken like a truly young idiot.” ~ Dan Pearce, Single Dad Laughing

Following on from my random thoughts yesterday, I got to thinking rather practically about the business of getting older and my thoughts can be summed up in one Bible verse: 1 Cor 13:11 “When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me.” 

I came to a realisation last night. The realisation that while it is awesome to be excited about the business of getting older, it is also important to be practical about it. It is important to consider, take into account and accept the little things age comes with whether we like it or not. 

When I was much younger I loved the British TV show Allo’ Allo’. The protagonist’s wife, Edith, who was in her late 50s, loved to reminisce about her younger days when she was a sexy cabaret singer of sorts. So one day she throws on her cabaret outfit and prances about like her 20 year old self singing to the German soldiers. The Gestapo Officer, Herr Otto Flick, walks right up to her, looks her up and down, and says “why is this mutton dressed as lamb.”

LOL the hilarious horror!

Even at just 30, I realise that my definition of what is sexy has changed. My weekend dresses are not as short as they used to be. I feel sexier in still-short-but-not-so-short dresses now. Vintage style appeals to me far more than trendy and edgy stuff lately.

I have finally learnt to perfectly shape my eyebrows. Boo yah! The bane of the twenties…too much or too little or everything.

It takes me a little longer to achieve my fitness goals when I exercise than it used to 5 years ago. Oh hell, even a year ago. The first time I had my 2.5hour workout after the Christmas holidays  this year, I thought my lungs would burst. Every muscle hurt. I pulled not one but two muscles! My gluts and my neck. It was humbling. I limped around for a week. What the hell??? In years gone by a month or two’s break meant nothing to my muscles. I would pound that tar on my first run like I had been doing it everyday and still have energy to go out and party. On my first valentine’s day with the boyfriend, I quickly ran the 10km Valentine’s race after work in just 1 hour and I still made it my 7pm date with him on time looking like fruit freshly picked off a tree. I can’t even imagine how I managed that now.

My skin needs me to drink more water more often. Drinking 10 cups of tea a day doesn’t count anymore. I actually see visible signs of dryness that Vaseline can’t conquer if I neglect my water intake.

My digestive system has gone from crunching indiscriminately through the slap chips and white bread that I chased down with gallons of tea almost daily to demanding higher quality food accompanied by veggies, fibre and water on a more regularly basis. In fact, if I dare to eat like my old self, the damn thing goes on strike. I think it joined a workers’ union. smh.

My definition of fun is no longer a big party. My definition of fun is hanging out with my close friends doing something laid back. Picnics. Game nights. Cooking. Actual conversations. Laughing. A party once in a long while.

As I’m getting older, it’s becoming more and more important to me to be knowledgeable enough about a variety of subjects. I am carefully cultivating my ability to converse on any and every subject with any and everyone from the taxi driver and the car guard to the financial directors and the CEOs. The ability to engage with all people, not just my peers, is a invaluable tool to me now. I read. I listen. I’m interested.

My finances matter to me. I budget and I stick to the budget. Other people rely heavily on me to be responsible with my finances. Gone are the days of blowing all my bucks on that extravagant pair of shoes or whatever else because I had no problem eating pap/ugali/sadza and eggs only for a couple of weeks. I have a real problem with sentencing others to that.  In fact, where regularly borrowing from a friend was an acceptable feature of the twenties, it’s not so acceptable to me now. It would mean that I regularly fail to stick to my budget. I guess it’s kind of like drinking until you are drunk. Being drunk is fun and even cool in varsity. Drinking until you are drunk in your thirties calls for an intervention from your friends lol. I guess the same goes for finances unless there are special circumstances involved. After all, life happens and we all need a little help sometimes.

I could go on for a while but I will end with this. As I approach thirty, I call so few people friends and they matter oh so much more to me.

These are just a few of the things I am enjoying or simply embracing as I boldly go where this woman has never been before. Somehow this post reminds me of post from a couple of years ago A Twentysomething Party versus A Thirtysomething Party.

 

 

 

