img_8125

“One day, in your search for happiness, you discover a partner by your side, and you realize that your happiness has come to help you search.” -Robert Brault

I am experiencing something akin to “the honeymoon period” in my marriage lately. There is no other way to describe it. I am absolutely loving it.

My latest lesson in marriage is not profound at all. It is so simple as to border on humdrum. Despite this, so far, it is my favourite.  

It is this: for every profound, character building difficulty in marriage, there are a hundred beautifully mundane moments of perfection interspersed with some pretty spectacular episodes.  Those hundreds of moments are the very reason why I know I would choose my human in a hundred lifetimes, in a hundred worlds, in any version of reality, I would find him and I would choose him. 

Now enough with the mushiness and on the update on the raging battle against the Love Chub.

I have been thinking about it a little more over the past 3 or so weeks and my view is that everyone’s body is different in the same way that everyone’s fitness and health goals are different. Its important to know what you are after before you chase it.

An equally important consideration is sustainability. The Love Chub is not a one time threat. As such, a one time solution is not appropriate. Drastic diets etc. may be effective in knocking off weight fast but if they are not sustainable, the weight will inevitably return. The same applies to drastic workout regimes.

Know what your body’s weaknesses are. For example, regular  consumption of sodas (coke etc) not only gives me breakouts, but also appreciably increases my waistline. As such, I hardly drink soda. I will have the odd one once is a long while (or the odd too many over Christmas *chuckles*). I have a friend who has one everyday with her lunch and her weight never changes and her skin is perfect. Know your own body.

Know what motivates you.

With the above in mind, I have faithfully implemented the following controls since I posted on the Love Chub:

  1. I increased my workouts and the intensity of my workouts. Instead of 3 or 4 longish sessions a week, I now aim for 5 or 6 short, intense sessions per week. This has been surprisingly effective.
    • I have given myself 2 sutainable options that make it difficult for me to make up excuses. If I can’t or don’t want to get to the gym, I do a T25 home workout. If I am travelling and staying at a hotel or BnB I can still do my T25 workout.
    • I am motivated by targets. I like competition. I like to win. So the fact that my medical aid rewards me in raw veg drinks that I don’t particularly like for meeting my workout target each week will get me off the couch. Its not the drink I’m after but the satisfaction of winning it. Crazy, I know.
  2. I stopped mirroring his plate. I still eat with him but my plate has smaller portions, limited or no starch, more vegetables and my normal protein intake.
  3. If I’m not hungry when he eats, I don’t eat. I just have tea and chat to him.
  4. I have started eating significantly more fruits in between meals.
  5. I have also started snacking on the odd handful of nuts as an alternative source of energy. My primary source of enery used to be carbs.
  6. I have always drunk 2 litres of water a day so I have just kept this up.
  7. Most importantly, I am educating myself on low-carb diets. If I am going to do anything long term, I need to know what I am in for. In addition, why reinvent the wheel? Someone else has already figured out 200 recipes that work with this lifestyle so I don’t need to build from scratch. I just need to understand and then pick and choose what meals appeal to me. Over time, it will come naturally to me to plan low carb meals without help…but not yet.

Its been quite an adjustment for me but today made it all worthwhile and even fired up my motivation engines a little more because not 1 but 3 unrelated people complimented me on my weight loss…my human included!  *dancing emoji*

grinning-emoji

